Hillsborough 

April 15 has never been the same for me since that tragic event in 1989. 

I was 17 years old and I remember being sat at the dining table doing my homework whilst listening  to the tragedy unfold over radio! 

If I’m honest, I recall tutting and updating my mum, who was taking advantage of a beautiful sunny day and gardening, on the thugs and hooligabs intent on spoiling a good old fashioned football match!

How wrong could I have been… As you will all know, that wasn’t the case at all. It was a tragedy that should never have happened. It wasn’t football hooligans or thugs at all. It was innocent football fans. Somebody’s dad, somebody’s son, somebody’s daughter, somebody’s loved one. It was my friend..

Henry Charles Rogers (Haggis)

 I don’t want to dwell on the events around that time. Even 26 years on it still reduces me to tears if I think too much about it.

What I do want to do is remember all the good things about Henry and how he used to make us all laugh

  • That time in the science lab when he “lit” the desktop gas tap (yes really, we had gas taps in classrooms!!) sending a blaze of fire out across the desktop & scorching all the wood. “Wasn’t me miss” said the boy with the singed eyebrow
  • That time he unscrewed the tap (same science lab, different tap) to see what would happen and flooded the whole science block! “Wasn’t me Miss” he said, tap in hand!
  • That time he was kicked out of French BEFORE he’d even sat down at his desk! Arms raised in celebration as he left the classroom “fastest kick out yet”
  • That time he rang me at home to arrange “bonking off” from school the next day. How could you not realise you were talking to my big sis!!
  • That time he said “f**k” several times to my big sis on the phone when you realised she’d tricked you!
  • Those shiny patent red shoes that he loved so much! He just laughed with us as we laughed at him… They did look good though, I think we were all just jealous!

So many memories for such a short life! Although, one thing I cannot remember is WHY on earth we called him “HAGGIS”?? 

Ironically, as touching a song as the Liverpool anthem of You’ll Neber Walk Alone is, The no 1 single at that time was The Bangles – Eternal Flame! I can never listen to it without all the memories flooding back.

This one is for you Haggis – you will always be the eternal flame 💖

The Bangles – Eternal Flame



2 thoughts on “Hillsborough 

  1. Such a waste of 96 lives and the lives of all their families and friends. Hopefully the full truth will come out soon and they can finally rest in peace xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

