Getting my goat!

Saturday night curry night in the Fennell household. In the words of Mr F “it’s tradition”…

I’m a bit of an adventurous cook and I try to vary it week by week (though I confess, the week I did a chilli was a vary too far 😳).

One day last year following an episode of one of my FAVOURITE shows “come dine with me”, I was inspired to try a goat curry!  

Now sourcing said meat was not the easiest of tasks. Our local Tesco and Sainsbury’s aren’t exactly no 1 in the top 10 of cultural supplies. A google search found me a farm, located about 30 minutes away in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. Closed on Saturdays!! 

Well clearly a farmer knows that when a girl has an urge, it must be sated! With the promise of a big order, he agreed to open up on Saturday just so that we could collect. I rounded up my usual girly cohorts, persuaded them to place an order and arranged a time to be at the farm on Saturday. 

Now when we got there, I was suprised to see a farmhouse complete with barn full of goats (I know I know, don’t say anything please) For a scary moment, I thought it was going to be like a Lobster restaurant, where I had to pick out my goat of choice!  

I was going to pick Billy who had caught my eye (pictured below) 

 Luckily, when I knocked on the door, our orders were already packaged and ready to go. Billy was safe for another day or two…

Well, what can I say? After all that effort, when it came to actually eating the goat curry, I was a bit hesitant. I mean, is been stroking Billy earlier on and now I had cooked his sibling! 

Mr F and F minor had no such qualms. They tucked in wholeheartedly and enjoyed it. As did my step-sons when I cooked it for them a few weeks later, ok, so I hadn’t actually told them what meat it was but that’s allowed, isn’t it? 🙊

Leave a Reply

